Wednesday, March 4, 2015
NEW ORLEANS - The Bethany men's and women's cross country teams had successful seasons in 2014 each coming in third place at the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference championships last fall. The squads performed well in the classroom as also as both teams were selected to the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) NCAA Division III All-Academic Team.
Monday, March 2, 2015
Legal Studies
The Board of Regents of Bethany Lutheran College (BLC) recently approved the addition of a new major and minor in legal studies. The new major will be offered beginning with the fall semester of 2015. Bethany’s new legal studies major was developed as a collaborative effort between several academic programs including communication, history, and sociology, and draws upon the College’s liberal arts tradition to bring an interdisciplinary... continue reading
Thursday, February 26, 2015
MANKATO, MN – The Bethany Lutheran College Board of Regents has unanimously elected Dr. Gene Pfeifer (56) of Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, to become the tenth president of the College, beginning July 1, 2015. Pfeifer has served as President of St. Croix Lutheran Grades 6-12 in West St. Paul, Minnesota, since 2007. Prior to his tenure at St. Croix, Pfeifer was Professor of Education and Director of Clinical Experiences at Martin Luther College... continue reading
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Faculty and Staff Anniversaries 2015
The Board of Regents of Bethany Lutheran College and Theological Seminary met on the Bethany campus for their quarterly meeting on February 2 and 3, 2015.  After the Chapel service on Tuesday, February 3, the Board recognized faculty and staff anniversaries. The Rev. Herbert Huhnerkoch was the guest speaker.  Pictured in back row from left: President Dan Bruss, Tiffany Young Klockziem (Assistant Professor, Health and Human Performance–15 years... continue reading
Monday, January 5, 2015
The next Bethany Lutheran College Athletic Hall of Fame induction will be during the 2015 Fall Festival in September. The Hall of Fame committee is looking for your nominations! If you know of a fellow teammate, classmate, relative, or associate you think deserves consideration for the Hall of Fame, you need to nominate them. Members of the Athletic Hall of Fame can be past players, coaches, or individuals who have given special service to the... continue reading
Monday, December 8, 2014
Let your mind wander back to your college days. Did you ever question, “Where will I be in ten, twenty, or even thirty years from now?” Were you concerned about making the correct career choice? What happens if I don’t like my work? A course developed by Dr. Jennifer Wosmek (psychology), helps to alleviate some of the uncertainty for psychology students at Bethany Lutheran College.  At the broadest level, the goal of Wosmek’s supervised study... continue reading
Friday, November 14, 2014
The 2014 edition of “Give to Bethany Day” was a great success! On Thursday, November 13, 2014, alumni and friends made 225 gifts to Bethany. The total contributions were $48,025 during this special 24-hour fundraiser. This outpouring of support certainly outpaced the $25,000 goal that was set for the day. Also, as a result of the support of a few kind donors who generously offered $25,000 in matching funds, the total contributions were $73,025... continue reading
Friday, October 31, 2014
Five students in Professor Shane Bowyer’s Principles of Management class at Bethany Lutheran College will be holding a fundraiser for Minnesota Valley Action Council (MVAC) Food Hub on November 8, 2014, from 6-9:30 p.m. at Buster’s Sports Bar and Grill in Mankato, MN. The event will feature live music by country musician Andrew Babcock, a silent auction with gift cards and items from local businesses, and an all-you-can-eat taco bar.  The Food... continue reading
Friday, August 8, 2014
Bethany Lutheran College is proud to announce four new inductees into its Athletic Hall of Fame. Anthony Bias starred for the men’s basketball team from 1979-81. He earned National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) All-American honors following his sophomore season after averaging 26.0 points, 12.4 rebounds, and 5.6 assists per game. He also was named to the All-Division Team, All-Minnesota Community College Conference (MCCC) State... continue reading
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Bethany Lutheran College began a $28,000,000 capital campaign in June 2007. The goals of the campaign focused on a variety of needs at Bethany. First and foremost was the construction of a new academic building to replace an aging Luther Hall (100 years old). In addition to the need for modern learning spaces, the College also sought to increase its endowed scholarships to meet the growing demand for financial aid. President Dan Bruss noted in... continue reading