Bethany Athletic Hall of Fame Banquet & Induction Ceremony

Friday, September 29, 2017

athletic hall of fame graphic 2017

Please plan on joining us for a banquet to honor the 2017 inductees into the Bethany Lutheran College Athletic Hall of Fame. Details are at the bottom of this page.
Giuseppe "Joe" Costanzo played soccer in 1972 and 1973 under Coach Mike Butterfield. During his sophomore season Costanzo received the team's Most Valuable Player award. He was named to the Southern Minnesota Soccer Conference All-Conference Team, All-Region XIII Team, and the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) National Tournament Team, and earned NJCAA All-American honors. Costanzo also earned All-Conference and All-Region honors as a freshman. His outstanding soccer career at BLC was highlighted by his famous winning penalty kick in the ninth overtime against Monroe Community College of New York earning the Vikings a third-place finish at the national tournament. Costanzo passed away in 1985 at the age of 31 and is receiving this award posthumously.
Alfonso Mayfield played four seasons (2002-04 and 2005-07) for the Bethany Viking basketball team under Coaches Art Westphal and Rick Jeddeloh. Mayfield was a highly decorated student-athlete earning All-American and All-Region honors three times, as well as receiving All-Conference recognition four straight years and All-Defensive honors in two seasons. He also was named to the All-National Tournament team during the 2003-04 and 2005-06 seasons.
Roland Reinholtz was a successful investment officer having retired as a senior manager for Thompson Investment Management. He is a loyal supporter of the College and its athletic program and was a member of Bethany's Board of Regents from 1989-2009. He played an instrumental part in helping create and establish the Bethany Sports Classic (golf tournament), now it its 32 nd  year.  He was also a key player in the organization of Bethany's Wisconsin Golf Classic.
Doug Roedl suited up for the baseball team in 1992 and 1993 under Head Coach Art Westphal as an outfielder and pitcher. Bethany qualified for the Minnesota Community College State Tournament and the NJCAA Region XIII Tournament both years Roedl played for the Vikings. He was a member of the 1993 team that saw Bethany win the State Tournament by defeating North Hennepin Community College in a come-from-behind effort. Roedl earned All-Division, All-State, and All-Region accolades during the championship season. In both seasons, he received the team's offensive Most Valuable Player award on his way to setting several offensive records at Bethany.
The 1961-62 Men's Basketball  team is the recipient of the 2017 "Team of Distinction" award. The squad, coached by Dr. Dwain Mintz in his final season at Bethany, won the NJCAA Region XIII Championship. Three players from that team were named to the region all-tournament team. The Vikings then went on to compete in the NJCAA National Tournament losing to eventual national champion Coffeyville (Kansas) Community College. The Vikings returned to the campus with eighth-place honors.
This group of four inductees will join the 36 current members of the Bethany Athletic Hall of Fame at an induction ceremony Friday, September 29. The "Team of Distinction" will also be honored at the same event as part of Bethany's Fall Festival Weekend.

Banquet Details

You are cordially invited to attend the 2017 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Banquet on Friday, September 29, at 6 p.m. This event will take place in Bethany's Honsey Hall and will be a part of the 2017 Fall Festival / Homecoming weekend. Reservations can be made by emailing, or by calling 800-944-3066. Cost of the banquet is $20 per person.