Opening Service - August 21, 2017 - 10:00am

Dr. Gene Pfeifer, President of the College
Music leader(s) 
Organist: Prof. Markus DeGarmeaux
Choir director: Prof. Dennis Marzolf
Other service participants 
Liturgist: Chaplain Don Moldstad

Order of Service

* Prelude

*Procession of the Faculty and Opening Hymn:  Come Holy Ghost, God and Lord – ELH 2

*Versicles (Psalm 51:15 and Psalm 70:1) and Gloria Patri

* Office Hymn (choir): All Those Who Trust in Christ (Jerusalem)  H. Parry, 1916

All those who trust in Christ are blest

And find in Him eternal rest;

This world’s allurements we despise

And fix on Christ alone our eyes.

Through Him we heirs of heav’n are made;

O Brother, Christ, extend Thine aid

That we may firmly trust in Thee,

And through Thee live eternally.


O Christ, our Savior, Helper Friend,

Be with us till our journey’s end.

In mercy guide us by Thy grace

Till we behold Thy glorious face.

Though Satan rage, His pow’r is gone

His thundering roar can harm us none

Our strong Defender hurls him down,

And wins for us a heav’nly crown.

Author unknown, 1607; 2. K. Stolshagen, 1550-94

* Lesson: Colossians 2:6-10

* Hymn: Lord, Open Thou My Heart – ELH 24

 * The Academic Address: Dr. Gene Pfeifer, President

* Installation of New Faculty and Staff: Rev. Don Moldstad, Director of Campus Spiritual Life

Benjamin Faugstad, Music

Jason Lowrey, Dean of Faculty

Deb Matzke-Lewis, Nursing

Rev. Nicholas Proksch, Religious Studies

Amanda Quist, Media Arts

Rev. Andrew Schmidt, Dean of Students

Stacy Tomhave, Registrar

* Presentation of Scholarships: Dr. Eric Woller, Vice President of Academic Affairs

S. C. Ylvisaker Scholarship Recipients:

Ezekiel Grabau, Waterville, Minnesota – Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton High School

Ian Overn, Madison Lake, Minnesota – Minnesota Valley Lutheran High School

Sarah Presler, Sioux Falls, South Dakota – Brandon Valley High School

Angelica Ramsey, Mosinee, Wisconsin – Mosinee High School

Audrey Rundgren, Overland Park, Kansas – Nebraska Lutheran High School

Marvin G. Meyer Scholarship Recipient:

Caleb Schilling, Holmen, Wisconsin – Luther High School

* Welcome to the Students: Karee Henrich, Student Senate President

* Canticle: All Glory Be to God on High – ELH 35:1

*Kyrie Eleison

*Lord’s Prayer

*Collect for the Opening of the Academic Year

P: Lord God, heavenly Father, We thank you that by Your grace You have given us Your holy and blessed Word, by which You also among us gather Your Holy Christian Church.  We humbly thank You for providing us with an institution of higher learning, where the precious knowledge of Christ our Savior can be confessed and taught. As we begin this academic year, we ask that Your hand of blessing would rest upon teacher and student, that all learning may give glory to Your name, for the edification of Your people and the welfare of our fellow man.

Help us, O God, by Your Holy Spirit, to keep Your Word in pure hearts, that we may be strengthened in Christian faith, perfected in holiness, and comforted in life and in death.  Amen

*Opening of the Academic Year

P: I now declare the Bethany Lutheran College Academic year of 2017–2018 to be in session, in the name of the Father, and of the Son, (+) and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

*Benedicamus and Benediction

*Hymn of Departure: With the Lord Begin Thy Task – ELH 82 (page 10)

*The Postlude (all may remain standing as the faculty process)


Colossians 2:6-10 As you therefore have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him, rooted and built up in Him and established in the faith, as you have been taught, abounding in it[a] with thanksgiving Beware lest anyone cheat you through philosophy and empty deceit, according to the tradition of men, according to the basic principles of the world, and not according to Christ. For in Him dwells all the fullness of the Godhead bodily; and you are complete in Him, who is the head of all principality and power.